we got another 2-3″ of snow again today, and more snow is in the forecast for the next couple of days; we have about 4-6″ on the ground now, w/drifts around 12-14″, and snow plow and snow shovel “moguls” getting close to 2′ (yes, that’s feet)… this has only served to reinforce my previously-formed opinion that snow, while pretty from a distance (meaning when one doesn’t actually LIVE in it), is a royal PITB…

funny thing is, I used to LOVE winter! it’s generally my favourite time of year (Christmas has been my favourite holiday ever since I was little), but I can see distinct advantages to every OTHER season now; specifically, being able to tell my kids “go outside and play!” it’s impossible to tell the boys to go outside when their mother hasn’t sent the necessary articles of clothing, and I can hardly let my dd go out alone (she’s 3), and I don’t have any snow gear yet myself… having my kids cooped up inside on most days definitely takes its toll on all of us, and I can TOTALLY understand now where the line “and mom and dad can hardly wait for school to start again!” comes from in “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas”… if we could just get the space heaters working down in the basement…

