Tags

, , , ,

it’s actually kinda weird to look back at some of my O-L-D posts, both on my blog and in the online communities I belong to… I was formally diagnosed w/severe PMDD (pre-menstrual dysphoric disorder*) back in May07, and the steps I’ve taken since then to improve my health have really improved things all around…

so what have I done to manage my PMDD? well, I’m still on ADs for now, and I’m back on NuvaRing (had a nasty relapse into “Jekyll and Hyde” when I went back on BCPs for a couple of months…OH. MY. GOSH. will NEVER do that again!!), plus the NatPro cream does wonders for me (way beyond what I expected, actually) IF I’m not on BCPs (BCPs just seem to really screw up my system); a cup of chamomile tea before bed is usually very helpful for my insomnia, but I may try topical application of sweet marjoram EO diluted in a light carrier oil, too, since the marjoram’s a stronger sedative than the chamomile (sometimes the chamomile just doesn’t seem to work, not quite sure why; my doc gave me an Rx for Ambien, but I’ve heard there are problems w/addiction, and anyone who knows me knows I’m not a big fan of popping pills as it is)…

how has learning to manage my PMDD helped improve things all the way ’round? well, for starters, I don’t terrorize my family any more (when I went back on BCPs for a couple of months and had a vicious relapse, my poor DH actually took the kids and went out, just to get away from me, b/c he said I was scaring HIM — you have to understand, he’s almost 6’6″ and ~240 lbs, to my 5’8″, 120+ lbs)… I don’t fly into a rage over every little thing; it’s much easier for me to respond calmly and rationally to things that previously would’ve sent me over the edge… I still get the occasional food craving, but not like “eat the house down” cravings… I’m able to focus on simple tasks again (like blogging <g>, or doing laundry), instead of feeling like I’m trying to operate in a fog… I’m just generally a much happier person on the inside and INFINITELY more pleasant to be around on the outside… my own mother has even observed that my kids aren’t terrified of me anymore… now who wouldn’t want that?

*if you, dear reader, struggle w/severe symptoms of PMS for more than 2-3 days before your period starts (often the whole 10-14 days before the onset of menses), I strongly encourage you to learn about PMDD and talk to your doctors — it may be that you, too, have the debilitating hormone imbalance now known as PMDD; and like anyone else w/a chemical imbalance, medication can play an important role, along w/proper nutrition, sleep, and exercise, in helping you get your life back…

