Tags

, , , , , ,

(I rarely post more than once on any given day, but this bit of news warranted another post today)

President Thomas S. Monson has officially been called to serve as the 16th president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

President Monson

As his counselors in the First Presidency of the LDS Church, Pres. Monson has called Henry B. Eyring (shown below on Pres. Monson’s right) as first counselor and Dieter F. Uchtdorf (shown on Pres. Monson’s left) as second counselor.

First Presidency

I love these brethren: Pres. Monson has been a General Authority since before I was born (he was set apart in 1963), so his is a comfortably (and comfortingly) familiar face and voice; Pres. Eyring was called as an Apostle shortly before I turned my back on the Church for several years, so it’s only been in the last 5 yrs that I’ve listened to and read his counsel, and I’ve learned a great deal from him; Pres. Uchtdorf was notably only the second Apostle to be called who’s not American-born (the first was Pres. John Taylor, who was born in England), but having spent much of my childhood and youth in Germany courtesy of the U.S. Army, I find I have a very strong affinity for this delightful man’s wit and wisdom. May they all be blessed with the strength and inspiration they need to continue to guide and direct the Church as the Lord would have them do.

