Tags

, , , , , ,

well, not quite DEAD, but definitely on its last leg…

I noticed the ice first: the ice cubes weren’t freezing solid, and the semi-frozen cubes were making a big mess inside the ice maker… I have NO idea why Larry thought it wasn’t a big deal, but he didn’t; I should’ve ignored him and called GE repair service anyway — now we’re into a 3-day weekend w/no hope of getting a repairman out here before Tues (if I’m absurdly lucky!!)…

fortunately, we do have the extra fridge out in the garage that I usually use for keeping several gallons of milk on hand (as much milk as my family drinks, I’d hardly have room for anything else in the fridge unless I want to be making multiple runs to the store every week, and w/the price of gas being what it is, I certainly don’t want to be doing that)… w/the exception of a few things that aren’t critical (mostly unopened condiments), we managed to get everything in the kitchen fridge moved out into the garage fridge, and Lar (sort of) cleaned out the big freezer so we could put all of the freezer stuff in there (I’d already filled the freezer side of the garage fridge to capacity)…

we only lost a couple of things (a few grapes and strawberries; not whole packages of them, at least), but it’s a ruddy nuisance having to go out to the garage any time I need to get something out the fridge… depending on how long it takes to get a repairman out to fix the kitchen fridge, I might break down and have Larry buy a dolly so he can swap the fridges out (we own the one in the garage, which his mother gave us, as opposed to the cheap-crap fridge in the kitchen that came w/this house, which we’re renting)…

but all in all, I’m glad we had the garage fridge to move our food into (I’d JUST done a restock shop at the supermarket, too, sheesh), and I’m grateful that we only lost a bit of fresh fruit…

