Tags

, , , , , ,

a bit of history and background: before Larry and I married 2 yrs ago, he rented a house for us, mainly to give us the opportunity to look for and buy a house together (kinda hard to do when he was in Utah and I was in Texas), so he found a little “starter home” in a decent subdivision, and we’ve been here for just over 2 yrs now…  we’ve been looking for a “real” house for the last ~6 mos or so, but we’re finding that most owners (usually out-of-state investors) would rather let the bank repossess the house than rent or lease the property (we’re still not quite in a position to go the conventional loan route to buy a home) — the bottom has basically dropped out of the market out here for homes in the $350k+ range, but there are an awful lot of sellers who’re still in total denial, even tho’ their houses continue to sit empty, until the banks repossess; if we were in position to buy a short sale or repo’ed property, we’d have moved already, there are SO MANY homes available under those circumstances…

skip forward to the present: yesterday, my DH opened a letter from the property mgmt company to find a letter that feels like an eviction notice:  the owners of the house we’re currently renting have decided to rent the house to their father, and we have 30 days to move out.

needless to say, this has TOTALLY stressed me out, but after attending church services today, I’ve decided to make the effort to have a more positive attitude about the whole situation…  I just commented to an acquaintance last week, whose son had just been through a difficult ordeal, that “whenever the Lord closes a door, somewhere He opens a window”; I don’t know what He’s trying to teach me here, but maybe it’s just an opportunity for me to demonstrate more control over my reactions to conditions in which we find ourselves through no fault of our own, or perhaps we’ve “served our purpose” in our current ward (local congregation), and the Lord needs us elsewhere now…  whatever the bigger reason we’ve lost our home (beyond the landlords’ decision), I can either make myself and my family miserable during this transition, or I can make it easier on everyone, including myself, by having more faith in my own abilities and in the Lord’s willingness and ability to bless our family sufficiently for our needs…

