Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

being in the middle of moving house this particular Pioneer Day has made me think about my “grandcestors” who left their homes and trekked across the West to settle in Utah…  one of my great-grandmothers several times removed was forced to flee Missouri after Governor Lilburn Boggs issued an extermination order, basically making it legal to shoot Mormons on sight (btw, that blatantly unconstitutional executive order wasn’t rescinded until 1976)…  one of my great-grandfathers also several times removed immigrated to the United States from Scotland after converting to the Latter-Day Saint faith and made the long, hard journey across the North American continent to settle up in Coalville, Utah, on the back side of the same Wasatch Mountains that tower over the town where I now live over a hundred years later (Echo Reservoir now covers the land in Summit County that used to include Grandfather Calderwood’s farm) — I had the opportunity to visit that area several years ago, and it’s small wonder that his journal entries indicate that his new home reminded him of his beloved Scottish highlands, it’s surprisingly lush and beautifully verdant…

moving house is inconvenient and certainly stressful, esp when it was unplanned and short notice, but it’s small potatoes compared to the hardships my forebears endured, sometimes leaving all of their belongings behind in a flight for their very lives…  I’m grateful for the examples of my pioneer ancestors and for the legacy of faith they bequeathed to generations after them…

