Tags

, , , ,

yesterday I went to Victoria’s Secret at one of the local malls to pick up more makeup remover (that’s all I’ve used for years), and they were totally OUT!  I was on the verge of panic when it dawned on me that I have ingredients on hand that I could use to make my own 2-phase makeup remover (2-phase is part oil-based, part water-based, but w/o any emulsifiers, so they separate out and have to be shaken vigorously before use)…  for the oil phase, I opted for a combo of plum kernel oil (similar to apricot kernel oil), fractionated coconut oil (FCO), cyclomethicone (low %), and paraben-free preservative (<1% per mfr’s reco’d usage rates), and a mixture of salvia sclarea (clary sage) and lavandula angustifolia (lavender) hydrosols for the water phase — it actually worked quite well, completely removing all of my makeup (including eye makeup, altho’ I don’t know how well it’d work on waterproof mascara since I don’t usually wear that) and leaving my skin feeling soft instead of stripped, and I was pleased that I was able to use 90%+ natural ingredients…  since this was an experiment, I only made a tiny 2-oz test batch (ruddy pain working w/such small amts of ingredients, BLAH), and while it’s not awful, there are definitely a few things I’ll tweak for the next test:  replace plum kernel oil w/high-oleic sunflower oil and reduce %, reduce % of cyclo even further, and increase % of FCO to compensate (since it’s a lighter oil, and the mixture felt just a bit heavy) for total % of oil phase…  yup, Halloween is on the way, and I’m already in mad scientist mode, MUAHAHAHAHA!!  😉

