Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

earlier this week, my father took a personality test as part of his application for a senior position at a local college; he brought the test home and we figured out how I could take it, too — I’m always fascinated by these things, mostly b/c they’re very rarely totally accurate… the results in this case were actually quite astonishing.

the test was a DiSC Classic (v9.0) Personal Profile System 2800; scores are determined by charting responses to 28 groups of words, and the patterns of the resulting 3 graphs have corresponding numbers that identify general personalities and their associated traits (general behaviours, weaknesses, strengths, etc.)… usually people will have three different numbers, and their overall personality is essentially a combination of all three personalities identified by the test; for example, my father’s scores identified him as “Achiever” “Appraiser” and “Objective Thinker” (no, I’m not going to include the details of those personalities here, sorry). what shocked me and my father both was that when I took the test, all three graphs produced the exact same result: numbers that corresponded w/the “creative” personality. so I now have proof, courtesy of a scientifically-developed test, that I’m one-dimensional… :S lol

more surprises came in the explanation of the “creative” personality type, which I’ll simply quote here for the sake of simplicity/clarity:

Emotions: accepts aggression; restrains expression

Goal: dominance; unique accomplishments

Judges others by: personal standards; progressive ideas for accomplishing tasks

Influences others by: ability to pace development of systems and innovative approaches

Value to the organization: initiates or designs changes

Overuses: bluntness; critical or condescending attitude

Under pressure: becomes bored with routine work; sulks when restrained; acts independently

Fears: lack of influence; failure to achieve their standards

Would increase effectiveness through: warmth; tactful communication; effective team cooperation; recognition of existing sanctions

Persons with a Creative Pattern display opposing forces in their behavior. Their desire for tangible results is counterbalanced by an equally strong drive for perfection, and their aggressiveness is tempered by sensitivity. Although they think and react quickly, they are restrained by the wish to explore all possible solutions before making a decision.

Creative persons exhibit foresight when focusing on projects, and they bring about change. Since individuals with a Creative Pattern have a drive for perfection and demonstrate considerable planning ability, the changes they make are likely to be sound, but the method they choose may lack attention to interpersonal relationships.

Creative persons want freedom to explore, and they want the authority to examine and retest findings. They can make daily decisions quickly but may be extremely cautious when making bigger decisions: “Should I accept that promotion?” “Should I move to another location?” In their drive for results and perfection, Creative persons may not be concerned about social poise. As a result, they may be cool, aloof, or blunt.

the ONLY thing that doesn’t accurately describe me is “accepts aggression,” and I think that’s largely attributable to my experience w/my first husband, who was quite violent; also, to elaborate on the “extremely cautious when making bigger decisions” observation, I do sometimes suffer from “analysis paralysis” when exploring options for a solution to a problem b/c I want to make sure I haven’t overlooked any possible answers.

it was shocking to realize that my relative coolness and disinterest in interpersonal relationships is essentially a component of my personality, and not merely a byproduct of my military upbringing as I’d previously guessed (however, I did have a counselor at one point confirm my theory that people who move frequently, esp during childhood and youth, do have a more difficult time building and maintaining deep/long-term relationships in adulthood, and that it’s a known and not uncommon phenomenon); I now believe that the military lifestyle I grew up with, moving every 12 to 36 mos courtesy of the U.S. Army, merely meshed well w/my innate aloofness but didn’t necessarily exacerbate it.

so what does this new insight mean to/for me? well, for starters (and not insignificantly), it means that I need LOTS of outside help learning to compensate for my natural ruthless efficiency, which rarely takes into consideration the (inconvenient ;\ lol) fact that people have feelings — I can certainly spell “tact” and “diplomacy,” but I have no idea how to actually use them (I’ve always thought diplomacy is the art of saying “nice doggie” while you look for a bigger stick!)…  :S  I’m sure I can learn new patterns and develop new habits, but I’m also aware that it will probably take considerable time and effort on my part to overcome something that is as much a part of me as my height or my eye colour…

