Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

handcarts and angels

we all have days when we feel like we’re rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic, like the universe has conspired against us… I frequently get hymns stuck in my head, and one of my favourites, esp when I feel like I’m fighting a lost cause, is “Come, Come, Ye Saints” from the LDS Hymn Book; the second verse in particular reminds me that, like my pioneer forebears, I have a duty to endure and to persevere in a cause that is just, even when things seem impossibly hard:

“Why should we mourn, or think our lot is hard?
‘Tis not so, all is right.
Why should we think to earn a great reward
If we now shun the fight?
Gird up your loins; fresh courage take.
Our God will never us forsake;
And soon we’ll have this tale to tell–
All is well! All is well!”

