Tags

, , , , , ,

unlike most people, I try to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen on Sundays — my rationale is that one of my jobs is homemaker, which includes planning and preparing meals most days during the week (DH helps out on days when I’ll be away from home close to dinnertime), so to make Sundays more of a “day of rest” for me, I’ve scaled back to simple meals that involve less of my regular everyday work in the kitchen… tonight I tried a(nother) new recipe 😀 (this is a long-standing joke in our family), and the kids totally snarfed it up! so I thought I’d share, but this is quite altered from the original recipe I found at kraftfoods.com, so I’m only posting my version:

2 c water
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1-1/2 tsp curry powder (I used 1 tsp regular curry and 1/2 tsp red curry)
2 tsp minced garlic
1 c white rice, uncooked (we like basmati rice)
2 c chopped cooked chicken or turkey
1 c mayonnaise
1/2 lg green bell pepper, chopped
2 sm tomatoes, diced
2-3 med green onions, chopped
1/2 can (4 oz of an 8-oz can) water chestnuts, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste
fresh parsley (optional)

Mix water, bouillon cubes, curry powder, and garlic in medium saucepan; bring to boil over med-hi heat. Stir in rice; cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20 mins or until rice is tender; transfer to large mixing bowl and cool covered in fridge for 2-3 hrs, stirring occasionally. Before serving, add all remaining ingredients; mix lightly. Transfer to serving bowl and garnish w/parsley, if desired. Serves 4-6.

