Tags

, , , , , ,

slice of pie

claiming to be a Christian is one thing; acting like a Christian is often an entirely different story, b/c as beautifully simple as Christian doctrine is, it’s a lot harder to put into practice than it sounds, mostly b/c “the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak” (Matt. 26:41)… when I catch myself behaving or speaking in an un-Christian manner (which happens a lot more frequently than I’d like to admit), I can often look back and see that I haven’t spent enough time in prayer recently, that I “may not fall into temptation” (Mark 14:38; also 3 Ne 18:18)…

it’s SO hard for me not to judge those whom I see treating others unfairly and unjustly, esp when that maltreatment immediately affects my own family and loved ones — I want to see justice NOW, never mind waiting for the Lord’s righteous and perfect judgment… :\ but I was reminded today, both indirectly by a conversation w/an honourable acquaintance on Twitter and directly by my father (a man who strives every day to walk humbly and uprightly before the Lord, and I am SO grateful for his example), that it is NOT my place to judge no matter how grievous I deem someone’s offences, nor does condemning sin relieve me of the obligation of praying for the sinners’ hearts to be softened by the grace and power of the Saviour, as I would hope others do for me when I err…

*sigh* humble pie is NOT my favourite dish, but after I’ve eaten a bit of it I can usually see that it was served for a reason, and somehow it’s always easier to swallow when I serve myself…

