Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

so after my metamorphosis from “girl-next-door blonde w/eyes that practically disappeared into my face w/o makeup” to “edgy redhead w/lush lashes,” there’s definitely been a learning curve re: all of the maintenance that goes into this level of artifice (the many years I had artificial nails were a doddle compared to this, HA! I wonder how long it takes butterflies to get used to their wings… but I digress):

for starters, I used to rub my eyes a LOT, esp when not wearing makeup; had to break that habit PDQ so I didn’t start ripping out my lash extensions. also had to learn how to press water out of my eyelashes when I shower. to make things even more interesting, I’m a very light sleeper and the least little bit of light is very disruptive for me, so I have to sleep w/an eye mask: no problems there w/my lash extensions (thank goodness! me + sleep deprivation = SCARYBAD). oh, and taking eye makeup off is now a major production, almost as much as putting it on the first place, since I have to use q-tips to remove eye and under-eye makeup to avoid getting clumps of cotton tangled in my lashes from cotton balls; fortunately taking my makeup off is seldom as time-sensitive as putting it on. 😉 I still use my HG Victoria’s Secret makeup remover (sold only in their retail beauty stores) since it’s an oil-free makeup remover that won’t dissolve the lash adhesive — it’s a similar formulation to Clinique or Neutrogena, just w/different silicones. I’ve also discovered that, since my natural lashes are so light, I won’t be able to go more than ~2-1/2 weeks between fills b/c my lashes start looking really sparse. I was very grateful that my eyes seemed to recover very quickly this time from the irritation of having the lash extensions applied (I’m not sure if it’s the adhesive on the tape that’s used to keep my lower lashes out of the way or if it’s the lash adhesive itself).

as for the red hair, I know it’s a high-maintenance colour, and I knew I’d be in for a lot of work; there’s surprisingly less work involved than I thought there would be. I only wash my hair every 3 days now instead of every other day (washing it more frequently would dull the colour more quickly, not to mention strip my hair of its natural oils and make it look like straw, like so many other women I see w/processed hair — no thx!) I do use Aveda’s Madder Root Conditioner (I wash my hair FIRST now and then leave the conditioner in for the rest of my shower), but I haven’t shelled out yet for their Madder Root Shampoo b/c it’s only sold in 1L sizes anymore and that just seemed like an awful LOT of shampoo if I ended up not being crazy about the colour. as it is, I loved the almost burgundy colour I started out with, but my acting coach informed me that I risk pigeon-holing myself in certain types of roles if I go with an “artistic” colour vs a natural-looking colour — I guess in Hollywood nobody cares if your hair colour isn’t natural as long as it LOOKS natural (oh, the irony!)… anyway, since I’m having my colour touched up this weekend I’ll be going for more of a flaming Irish red, kind of Isla Fisher meets Maureen O’Hara. 😉 I also let my hair air dry whenever possible (used to do that before colouring my hair), but if I have to blow it dry I still spritz it pretty generously w/Aveda’s Brilliant Damage Control to help protect my hair and the colour from heat styling (esp since my WetLine Pro straightener heats up to ~400F). so the only things that have changed for my hair care routine are my conditioner (and probably my shampoo) and having to get the colour retouched every ~8-10 weeks. not so hard to manage, even for a total hair colour neophyte. 😉

