Tags

, , , , , , , ,

in the spirit of posting about food <G>, I wanted to share my hot broccoli dip, a new recipe (yeah, I know, THERE’s a shocker LOL) that I concocted for our family potluck last weekend — this dip got SNARFED! it was esp popular w/the menfolk 😉 even better, it’s quick and easy, vegetarian-friendly, and has no added salt (plus I happened to already have all of the ingredients on hand). I made it in my baby crock pot for easy portability/heating. enjoy! 🙂

Hot Broccoli Dip
Quick and flavourful appetizer w/Italian flair will be a big hit at your next party
10 oz (~1-1/2 c) frozen broccoli florets, thawed, well drained, and chopped (small but not fine)
1 c mayonnaise
3 Tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil
1 Tbsp dried minced onion
2 tsps roasted minced garlic
1/2 tsps dried oregano
1/4 tsps dried basil
1/2 c grated Parmesan cheese
1 c shredded Mozzarella cheese
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
dash freshly ground pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in small (3-qt) crock pot; cover and cook on low ~3 hrs or until dip is hot and bubbly. Serve w/crackers (we like Triscuits or Wheat Thins).

NOTE: this recipe could be doubled and still fit in a 3-qt crock, but for easier mixing the ingredients should be combined in a separate bowl before transferring the mixture to the crock for cooking.

