Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

last night I went to the opera w/my mum — I haven’t been to the opera for YEARS, and never in Utah; and I can’t remember the last time I went on a mommy-daughter date where I was the daughter! 😉 it was fun to spend a couple of hours w/mum doing something that neither of us have done for a very VERY long time.

the opera was actually a double-header: two one-act operas together (the second two pieces from Puccini’s Il Trittico, in fact). Suor Angelica (the second piece in the triptych) isn’t an opera I’ve seen before, but it was quite moving and has some really beautiful music, even tho’ the theme is a real downer (granted, it IS a tragedy; I found it rather odd that Wikipedia would refer to it as “uplifting”). Gianni Schicchi (the third of Puccini’s trio), OTOH, is a hilariously fun farce and happens to be one of my all-time faves – who doesn’t love an absurd romp at the opera? 😉 mum enjoyed it as well – I don’t think she’s ever seen GS before, and she thought it was really funny. Utah Opera has some wonderful talent performing, and the unseen participants (director, conductor, orchestra) all acquitted themselves very admirably last night as well.

we’d never been to Capitol Theatre before, either, and it’s lovely (very baroque); here’s a view from the stage into the opera house (our seats last night were up in the mezzanine near the front):

oddly enough, it put me in mind of the Majestic Theatre in San Antonio, which is styled COMPLETELY differently, having a richly exotic moorish flavour:

both theatres are beautiful albeit totally different

someday I’ll be a “patron” again; I was a patron of the San Francisco Opera for a couple of  years quite a while back (oh look! Il Trittico is part of their 2009-2010 season as well, how funny! only they’re performing the entire thing, not that Il Tabarro is very well known, or even well liked…sorry, Signore Puccini) but for now I can content myself w/the occasional night at the opera 🙂

