Tags

, , , , , , ,

yes REALLY!

Mum gave me this recipe a year ago, and I hadn’t gotten around to trying it until tonight.

oh.

my.

GOSH.

it actually does taste like a cheeseburger!!

my mother heard of this while watching Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives on the Food Network, but she said they only mentioned ingredients, not measurements, so I have to give Mum major props for guessing correct quantities for a VERY yummy soup! 🙂 fwiw I’m not adding this to my recipe page YET, b/c only 2 of the 5 of us have had it, so I can’t say at this point if it’ll become a family fave, but I’m sharing the recipe here anyway:

Cheeseburger Soup
1 lb ground beef, browned
1 Tbsp butter
4 Tbsps flour, divided
3 chicken bouillon cubes
2 c water
1 c heavy cream
1 c milk
1 c shredded cheddar cheese
shredded iceberg lettuce
diced roma tomatoes
hamburger dill pickle slices, chopped
chopped onion

In large pot, brown ground beef over med heat; add butter and 2 Tbsps flour, mix until butter is melted and beef is thoroughly coated w/butter and flour. Add bouillon; slowly add water and then cream, stirring until smooth. Make a slurry of the milk and remaining 2 Tbsps of flour; add to soup mixture to thicken. Reduce heat and stir in cheese; simmer until cheese is melted. Serve w/generous toppings of lettuce, tomato, pickle, and onion.

possible variations on a theme:

  • add crumbled bacon as garnish for a bacon cheeseburger (we did this tonight about halfway through dinner — YUMMY!)
  • add chopped jalapeno as garnish for a jalapeno cheeseburger
  • sautee onion (instead of serving raw as garnish) w/sliced mushrooms, substitute shredded swiss cheese for cheddar, add bacon crumbles as garnish
  • sautee onion (instead of serving raw as garnish); add diced avocado, crumbled bleu cheese, and crumbled bacon as garnishes

I haven’t tried these as soup yet, but I’ve certainly had them as burgers, so why not? 😉 enjoy!

